HR Overcasting

copy of email + reply to bills request for clarification.

Rule – Overcasting ie casting above your magic level.

This is a proposal to dampen down the potentially force ( mag * 2) =
force 12 spells or at least postpone them till later in the campaign.
instead of Force 1 to Mag = stun damage and Force Mag+1 to Mag+Mag
= physical damage.
it will be Force 1 to Mag = stun damage and Force Mag+1 to Mag+
(lowest of “initiate level”, Mag) = physical damage.
this will make initiating more worth while. and overtime tend towards
the original 2*Mag limit.


Overcasting is very confusing, but then putting it down on paper can be very confusing for us ludites. Mag is used a lot……what the hell is Mag?

( mag * 2) is that Magic Stat x 2? If so should it read ?

Over Powered Spell Casting

It used to be (Magic stat x 2) = Meaning you could get force 12 spells. With following House rules we will postpone them till later in the campaign.

Instead of Force 1 to Magic Stat = Stun damage and Force Magic Stat +1 to Magic Stat + Magic Stat = physical damage.

it will be Force 1 to Magic Stat = stun damage and Force Magic Stat+1 to Magic Stat + (lowest of “initiate level”, Magic Stat) = physical damage.
this will make initiating more worth while. and overtime tend towards
the original 2 x Magic Stat limit.

er…..still don’t make no sense. Sorry even trying to edit in more complete words, it still makes no sense. The whole italic section is a mystery wrapped in an enigma. Can you help me?
-————————-

mag is you current casting Magic attribute.

rules in the book say you can cast a spell up to force of 2 x your
magic attribute.
and if you cast above your attribute then the drain changes from stun
to physical

we are changing the to say
you can cast a spell up to a force of Magic attribute + Extra.
where Extra is the lowest of initiate level or Magic attribute
and if you cast above your attribute then the drain changes from stun
to physical.

so this means until you initiate you cant overcast.
as your imitate level goes up so does the amount you can overcast by.
until your initiate level passes you magic attribute then you are back
to the old rules as Extra = magic attribute

HR Overcasting

The Sorrow Stone mikehinds